Legacy Post Disclaimer

This is a #Legacy post imported from Holmes County Advertiser’s previous platform. If you’re experiencing issues with this article, please email us at [email protected].

BOCC talks ARPA funds and TDC

BONIFAY – American Rescue Plan Act funds and the Tourist Development Council were the
two hot topic items discussed when the Holmes County Board of County
Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday.

Of the $3.6 million
allocated to the county, only $1.8 million has been received with the
remaining half to be received one year after the first deposit

Commissioners made a move to approve five of seven requests at 50 percent in order for Liberty Partners of Tallahassee to work with Attorney Brandon Young on drafting federal procurement documents for each project after which those documents would come back before the board for final approval before going out to bid.  

A second move was made to approve each potential recipient
to work with Liberty Partners and county staff to identify any other
funding sources to match ARPA funds. Should other f
unding sources be found, it will allow the ARPA funding to go farther than the original $3.6 million. Liberty Partners President Jennifer Green assured the board that although they approved the 50 percent, if a secondary funding source was not available for a project, that would in fact be able to fund the project fully.

Holmes County Development Council Executive Director Joe Rone addressed commissioners after being tasked with looking at guidelines and regulations concerning the Tourist Development Council. Rone found that there are nine members on the council that will serve in three-year terms, with each seat being required to be held by people that meet specific requirements. Those requirements include: One seat
for County Commission Chair or designee, Bonifay Mayor or designee,
Ponce de Leon Mayor or designee, owners or operators from three places t
collect the bed tax, the Chamber of Commerce Board President, the
Development Commission Executive Director and one at large resident
interested in promotin
g tourism. Eight members were approved by commissioners with the last seat to be filled by the recommendation of the TDC board. Earl Stafford, Eddie Sims, Shane Busby, Angela Dockery, Fred Provost, Jaquie Robbins, Lesley Hatfield and Joe Rone are
the members approved by the board. The TDC will recommend one of the
following for the remaining seat, Jason Powell, Betty Sl
ay or Randy Torrance.

The Holmes County Board of County Commissioners will meet again in a special session at 5:30 p.m, Monday, Nov. 8.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply